top of page
  • James Kislenko

Version 001

Updated: Jan 5, 2023

Here it is! The first rendition of my autorig! This version was created when I decided that it was time to compile my miscellaneous scripts into one comprehensive system with one main UI.


CURRENT FUNCTIONS:

  • Creates a UI for the functions of the AutoRig

  • Creates a group hierarchy for the rig. Gives the user the option to name their rig here

  • Current groups: joints, controls, IK, geometry

  • Allows the user to create an FK, IK, or an FK/IK limb system by selecting the first joint in a 3-length chain of joints and running the function 'Create limb'

  • This function works given that the joint system is labelled properly. The joints must be named in the function of 'c_limbName_1'. variations such as 'r_limbName_001', and 'l_limbName_00000002' are also acceptable!

  • Allows the user to re-color the controls. Currently, joints marked as "c" (center) are colored yellow, "r" (right) are colored red, and "l" (left) are colored blue.

  • Allows the user to automatically organize their newly created limb system into the created hierarchy.

NEXT STEPS:

  • Add a function which allows for the user to select the colors that they would like to assign to the controls. As well as to assign colors to individual controls.

  • Add twist joints and stretchy IK to the limb functions.

  • Add a function which builds a stretchy spine


END GOAL:

  • Create a locator system to build an entire bipedal skeleton after adjusting the locators.

  • The UI will be broken up into two parts: one which facilitates the building of the entire biped, and one that allows the user to build each part of the skeleton individually (much like how this version allows you to build limbs)


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Facial Rigging Tools

As a part of my process for automating the rigging for my senior film, I also developed a script which would greatly increase the pace of...

MAJOR Quadruped Additions

As I approached my senior film at SCAD I got to choose what film pitch idea I wanted to join the team of and help develop. I ended up...

About "Samovar"

WHAT: "Samovar" is an Autorig scripted in Python WHEN: This is an ongoing scripting project I continuously update between classes. It...

Comments


bottom of page